Question: Is Bono region the same as Brong Ahafo Region?

Bono Region used to be Brong Ahafo Region. The recent creation of six new regions led to the creation of two new regions (Bono East and Ahafo Regions) out of then Brong Ahafo Region. The current Bono Region is as a result of the remainder of Brong-Ahafo Region when Bono East Region and Ahafo region were created.

Which region is Brong Ahafo?

The Brong-Ahafo region was a region in southern Ghana. Brong-Ahafo was bordered to the north by the Black Volta river and to the east by the Lake Volta, and to the south by the Ashanti, Eastern and Western regions. The capital of Brong-Ahafo is Sunyani....Brong-Ahafo regionISO 3166 codeGH-BAHDI (2017)0.584 medium· 6st24 more rows

Which region is Bono region?

Bono, Akan state of western Africa from the 15th to the 18th century, located between the forests of Guinea and the savannas of the Sudan in what is now Brong-Ahafo region in the Republic of Ghana.

Which region is Ahafo in Ghana?

The Ahafo Region is a newly created Region in Ghana with Goaso as its capital....Ahafo Region.AhafoCountryGhanaCapitalGoasoArea• Total5,193 km2 (2,005 sq mi)7 more rows

What are the towns in Bono region?

The principal towns in the Bono East Region are Techiman, Kintampo, Atebubu, Nkoranza and Yeji.

What is the ethnic group of eastern region?

There are four major ethnic groups in the region namely, the Akan (52.1%), the Ga-Dangme (18.9%), the Ewe (15.9%) and the Guan (7.2%). The Akan are predominant in 11 of the 17 districts and constitute about 85.4 per cent of the population of Birim South, 75.0 per cent in Birim North and 67.9 per cent in East Akim .

How many ethnic groups are in Ashanti Region?

The non-Akan population in the region comprises the Mole- Dagbon (9.0%), the Ewe (3.2%), the Grusi (2.4%), the Mande-Busanga (1.8%) and the Ga- Dangme (1.4%). The other smaller ethnic groups form about 1.3 per cent of the population of the region.

What are 16 regions in Ghana?

Ashanti Region. The Ashanti Region is the cultural heartbeat of Ghana. ... Brong Ahafo Region. ... Central Region. ... Eastern Region. ... Greater Accra Region. ... Northern Region. ... East Region. ... Upper West Region.More items...

What are the 16 regions and their capital?

The 16 regional capitals;Oti Region - Dambai.Bono East Region - Techiman.Ahafo Region - Goaso.Bono Region - Sunyani.North East Region - Nalerigu.Savannah Region - Damango.Western North Region- Sefwi Wiawso.Western Region - Sekondi.More items...•20 Feb 2019


Following the creation of the Bono East and the Ahafo regions, what is left of the former Brong Ahafo Region has been named the Bono Region, with Sunyani retained as the capital. However, the remaining parts of the former Northern, Western and Volta regions will maintain their old names because the names of the new regions created in those areas do not affect the old names. The Minister of Regional Reorganisation and Development, Mr Dan Botwe, told the Daily Graphic yesterday that the Attorney-General would soon trigger the constitutional process to give legal backing to the names.

Is Bono region the same as Brong Ahafo Region?

The administrative areas of the Bono Region consist of the Sunyani municipality, the Sunyani West District, the Berekum municipality, the Dormaa municipality, Is Bono region the same as Brong Ahafo Region? Dormaa East District, the Dormaa West District, the Jaman South municipality, the Jaman West District and the Jaman North District. That meant that the Brong Ahafo Region, which was the second biggest region in the country, covering an area of 39,557 square kilometres, no longer exists.

Is Bono region the same as Brong Ahafo Region?

No imposition Mr Botwe said the name Bono Region was not an imposition by the government. He explained that it was proposed by the chiefs and opinion leaders of the area during the public hearings of the Commission of Enquiry into the creation of new regions.

Is Bono region the same as Brong Ahafo Region?

Justifying why the name was given, he said once Ahafo was taken off and Bono East was also off, there was no reason maintaining the name Brong Ahafo Region. Remaining regions For the Western, Volta and Northern regions, Mr Botwe said there was no reason to change the names because the names given to the new regions did not affect the old names. Mr Botwe expressed delight at the journey so far, save the disturbances that occurred in Salaga following the choice of Damongo as the capital of the Savannah Region.

He said the creation of the regions was all about accelerated development and promised that the Akufo-Addo government would not deviate from that path. Mr Botwe added that the regional offices of government institutions would not be placed in the regional capitals alone but that some of them would be located in the other towns.

The old Volta Region, which will cease to exist from tomorrow when the Oti Region is legally carved out of it, covered an area of 20,570 square kilometres. It bordered the Volta Lake to the west, the Republic of Togo to the east and the Atlantic Ocean to the south.

Contact us

Find us at the office

Cudd- Lehnert street no. 7, 84569 New Delhi, India

Give us a ring

Esly Garzone
+76 910 442 603
Mon - Fri, 10:00-16:00

Contact us